Search Results


Use the fields below to perform an advanced search of The Daily Targum's archives. This will return articles, images, and multimedia relevant to your query. You can also try a Basic search




1000 items found for your search. If no results were found please broaden your search.







DEANGELO: Students have ability to enact real social change

(02/22/18 2:14am)

The quote “be the change you wish to see in the world” is written on a staircase at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, FL. Sarah Chadwick, a survivor of the Feb. 14 mass shooting, said she read it every day while walking to class. Now, she and many of her classmates are living Gandhi’s words by launching a wave of gun reform activism — one equipped with experiential dialogue and the hearts of young people. In a matter of a week, they have grown to out-lead the leaders of our country. 



EDITORIAL: Career fairs are for student opportunity

(02/21/18 12:42am)

RU Dreamers created a petition with the goal of disinviting the U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement Agency (ICE) from Rutgers—Newark’s Government and Public Service Career Fair. After this petition was set forth, ICE withdrew from the fair, which is set to take place today. In their petition, the organization stated that, “The invitation to ICE challenges the proactive and inclusive stance (Rutgers—Newark) has taken in fostering safety, support and diversity in our community.” Additionally, it was stated that upholding ICE’s invitation to the event would create an “intolerable and unsafe environment for students.”


LETTER: U. should phase out animal science

(02/21/18 12:40am)

As a Rutgers University alumna, I am writing to urge University President Robert L. Barchi to phase out animal science at Rutgers’ School of Environmental and Biological Sciences. Animal science teaches false beliefs about other animals, health and food, perpetuates mass abuse of nonhuman animals and devastation of the living world — and raising other animals is not agriculture, which means cultivation of fields. The flesh, cow’s milk and egg industries wheedled their way into our colleges of agriculture long ago under false pretenses. Our land-grant universities (LGUs) perpetuate terrible wrongs by continuing to serve, promote and sustain them.


BEZAWADA: Students should go with gut on life's path

(02/21/18 12:41am)

If you read The Daily Targum’s opinion pieces last semester, you might recall reading an article with this byline: "Sruti Bezawada is a Rutgers Business School freshman hoping to transfer into the School of Arts and Sciences and double major in computer science and communications. Her column, 'Traipse the Fine Line,' runs every alternate Thursday." Two things have changed since then: First, my column runs every alternate Wednesday now.


EDITORIAL: Administration is justified in action

(02/20/18 2:46am)

On Dec. 12, 2017, a Rutgers Board of Trustees meeting was severely interrupted when members of Rutgers United Students Against Sweatshops (USAS), Rutgers Puerto Rican Student Union and Black Lives Matter Rutgers, among others, took the center of attention by rallying and chanting together, causing disruption and refusing to leave until University President Robert L. Barchi raised the student worker minimum wage to $15 an hour. Twelve of the students involved in the protest now face charges related to disorderly persons offenses, as well as disciplinary action by the University pursuant to the student code of conduct. Some believe that the administration’s behavior in this situation is uncalled for, and that students should be able to speak up for what they believe in without fear of retaliation. So, then, which side is in the right?


ABDELFATAH: Russian interference is attack on democracy

(02/20/18 2:49am)

It has long been a widely accepted fact that the Russian government purposely interfered in the 2016 elections as well as democratic elections in other countries, such as France. This Friday the Department of Justice officially charged 13 Russians and three companies of attempting to subvert the 2016 elections in favor of President Donald J. Trump's presidential campaign. Interfering in democratic elections is one of the more dangerous soft-power tools that the Kremlin has, and is an issue that America and its allies must not fail to address. 



EDITORIAL: School shootings are preventable

(02/19/18 12:26am)

Last Wednesday’s school shooting in Parkland, Florida left 17 dead. No matter one’s political affiliation, it can be agreed upon that events like this are horrific and have no place in our country. Now, it seems as though everyone across the political spectrum is searching for answers to the same question — how do we ensure that nothing like this ever happens again?


COMMENTARY: Gender roles are all too prevalent in schools settings

(02/19/18 12:29am)

In college classrooms, gender roles are all too clear. My newfound frustration stems from my recent epiphany that even in my majority-female environmental policy classes, the voices that dominate the classroom are usually male. I have noticed that male students are more likely to call out without raising their hands, or offer examples and anecdotes that are not entirely relevant. To me, class participation is a sort of calculated performance. I rehearse what I am going to say, plan out my sentence and polish each word. If it does not add any value, I do not bother. Before I raise my hand, I think a lot about the words that are about to come out of my mouth. Is this stupid? Is my professor going to judge me? Am I wasting everyone’s time? In other instances, even when the time is right, I convince myself otherwise. My professor once asked toward the end of the lecture, “Does anyone have questions or comments?” A few male students raised their hands. My professor answered each question comprehensively. Suddenly, a question popped into my mind, and I almost raised my hand. But, I decided it was at the very end of class, approximately 7 p.m., and I did not want to waste anyone’s time. I figured I could look it up if I really wanted to know. After talking with some friends, I realized I am not entirely alone. This phenomenon of self-doubt extends into conferences, meetings and work environments. A recent study found that women ask fewer questions than men at conference talks. At an international conservation biology conference, male scientists asked on average 1.8 questions for every one question asked by a female scientist, even when females made up 40 percent to 75 percent of the audience.  


SURIANO: The Centurion should not be counted out

(02/19/18 12:28am)

My colleague Brittany Gibson published an opinions column in Wednesday’s edition of this fine newspaper arguing that the newly-revived conservative campus news outlet The Centurion was bound to fail. In the grand tradition of healthy debate, I would like to mount a defense of this new conservative publication and argue why conservatives, moderates and yes even liberals should at least give it a chance.



SHAH: Maybe tragedy should be politicized to create change

(02/15/18 11:33pm)

One year at my high school, a couple of kids in my grade came to school dressed up in flannels and boots as “school shooters” for Halloween. It was not funny … just heartbreakingly insensitive. Even though those students were immediately chastised by our school administration, the wild inconsideration displayed by such an instance still makes me think. 


CASTELLI: FBI memo displays agency's inadequacy

(02/15/18 11:34pm)

On Feb. 2, House Republicans released a controversial memo accusing the Federal Bureau of Investigation and Department of Justice investigations into the alleged collusion between Russian government and then-candidate President Donald J. Trump of bias. The memo raised concerns about the “legitimacy and legality” of proceedings, which suggest that Christopher Steele was paid more than $160,000 by the DNC and Clinton Campaign through the research firm Fusion GPS. According to the memo, initial FISA applications did not disclose “the role the DNC, Clinton campaign or any party/campaign funding” in the dossier even though FBI and DOJ officials were aware of Steele’s political opinions. 


EDITORIAL: Variety in one's knowledge is valuable

(02/15/18 2:34am)

Science, technology, engineering and mathematics, or STEM, are vitally important for the continuing progress of humanity. For American citizens, general success in STEM fields promotes economic growth and stability — creating the basis for innovation. In the face of resurging rival sovereign powers, such as China and Russia, innovation with regard to STEM may very well play a big part in determining the future of the United States on the world stage. Considering the aforementioned, it is safe to say that we need our best and brightest American students studying subjects in STEM fields. It is the case that STEM majors are becoming increasingly popular among college students, but while STEM fields become more and more widely studied each year, the opposite is the case for the humanities. 


BULNES: Exercise can improve your mental health

(02/15/18 2:36am)

Humans gain mental strength in the same way that they gain muscle strength — by consistently lifting what deliberately weighs them down. This is, of course, easier to do with physical weights since anybody can go to the gym and find dumbbells lined up in a row waiting to be lifted. Mental strength, on the other hand, can be obtained by understanding what mentally weighs you down, restricts you, limits you and choosing to lift those metaphorical dumbbells every single day.